Premier Makes Changes to Cabinet Responsibilities and Committees

Thursday, December 1, 2011 - Regina, Saskatchewan

Premier Brad Wall today announced a few changes to cabinet responsibilities and cabinet committees as the government prepares for the new session of the Legislature which begins on December 5.

Energy and Resources Minister Bill Boyd takes over from Highways and Infrastructure Minister Jim Reiter as Minister responsible for the Global Transportation Hub (GTH). Reiter will serve as the Vice-Chair of a new cabinet committee to oversee development of the GTH.

Cypress Hills MLA Wayne Elhard has been named Provincial Secretary, taking over that role from Education Minister Donna Harpauer.

Elhard will not serve as a member of cabinet in his new role but will also become Legislative Secretary to the Premier and will receive the additional Legislative Secretary allowance of $13,287 per year. Wall said he will not be appointing any other Legislative Secretaries at this time.

Reiter and Harpauer both retain their main cabinet responsibilities for Highways and Education respectively.

Wall also named a new Treasury Board and Crown Investments Corporation (CIC) Board. Treasury Board oversees the province’s General Revenue Fund finances and oversees ministry budgets while the CIC Board oversees the operations of Saskatchewan’s Crown Corporations.

The Treasury Board members are Deputy Premier and Finance Minister Ken Krawetz (Chair), Thunder Creek MLA Lyle Stewart (Vice-Chair), CIC Minister Tim McMillan, Social Services Minister June Draude, Regina Northeast MLA Kevin Doherty and Martensville MLA Nancy Heppner.

The Crown Investment Corporation Board members are CIC Minister Tim McMillan (Chair), SaskTel Minister Bill Boyd (Vice-Chair), SaskPower Minister Rob Norris, Regina Douglas Park MLA Russ Marchuk and Saskatoon Sutherland MLA Paul Merriman.

Wall also created a new GTH Cabinet Committee consisting of GTH Minister Bill Boyd (Chair), Highways and Infrastructure Minister Jim Reiter (Vice-Chair), Municipal Affairs Minister Darryl Hickie and Enterprise Saskatchewan Minister Jeremy Harrison.