The GTH was officially created on June 24, 2009 with a mandate to plan, develop, construct, operate, manage and promote a dedicated transportation logistics park in Regina, Saskatchewan.  Our board is appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council pursuant to The Global Transportation Hub Authority Act. The board consists of no more than nine external directors and meets four times per year.

Among other things, the Authority’s legislation establishes the governance model for a Board of Directors who offer a broad range of experience and expertise. The board is responsible for setting direction and guiding the inland port authority in fulfilling its mandate, setting goals and objectives for corporate performance, reviewing performance, and providing contributions on key strategic and development issues.

The Code of Conduct establishes clear conflict of interest rules and board members must disclose any potential or real conflicts of interest.

Learn about our Board of Directors — Terms of Reference

Learn about our Board of Directors — Code of Conduct

A portrait of Terry Baker

Terry Baker


See bio

Mr. Baker, ICD.D is the President of Franklin Land & Cattle Co., a century old mixed farm located in West Central Sask.  A non-practicing Civil Engineer, he was the former Chair of Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, the founding Chair of Viterra, long serving board member of Nutrients For Life Canada and the former chair of the Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation.  Mr. Baker currently serves as Chair of Agrivita, Canada’s national not-for-profit corporation promoting health and safety research and its effective application to the agricultural sector.

A Portrait of Lionel LaBelle

Lionel LaBelle

See bio

Mr. LaBelle has an extensive entrepreneurial background having assumed a leadership and ownership role in a cross-section of publically traded and private corporations focused on agribusiness, construction and manufacturing.  From 2008-14 he was President and CEO of the Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership (STEP).  Since leaving STEP, Mr. LaBelle has completed projects as a private consultant working for government as well as private corporations with a focus on export development, strategic planning, public policy implementation & corporate governance.  Throughout his career Mr. LaBelle has been active on multiple Boards whether they be Crown Corporations, Industry driven, Regional Economic Development and charitable and/or social organizations.

A portrait of David Sutherland

David Sutherland

See bio

Mr. Sutherland brings a wealth of private business expertise following a 30-year career with one of North America’s most successful manufacturers.  He is the former president and CEO of IPSCO Inc. – a Regina-based steel and pipe company acquired by SSAB.  In leading the company, he gained acclaim as one of the top Industry CEO’s in North America.  He is currently Chairman of United States Steel Corp.  and Graham Construction, Director for GATX Corporation, and a Member of the Directors of Imperial Oil Ltd.  He is a former member of the Board of Governors of the University of Saskatchewan.

Portrait of Nithi Govindasamy

Nithi Govindasamy

See bio

Mr. Govindasamy is a long-time civil servant, who retired as Deputy Minister, Ministry of Highways for the Saskatchewan Government in 2017.  His 35-year public sector career included leadership roles in the Ministries of Agriculture in both Saskatchewan and Alberta.  Most recently, Mr. Govindasamy served as senior advisor at the GTH where he introduced the organization to his national and international agriculture network.

Portrait of Daniel Hersche

Daniel Hersche

President & CEO

See bio

Daniel is a Charted Professional Accountant having worked in a variety of financial, strategic, and project management roles across several Ministries and Crown Corporations including assisting the GTH in its transition to its current private sector management model. Daniel's varied experiences, successes, and skill set makes him well suited to lead the organization.

Portrait of the Honourable Jim Reiter

Honourable Jim Reiter

See bio

Jim Reiter was first elected as the MLA for Rosetown-Elrose in the 2007 provincial election and was re-elected in 2011, 2016 and 2020. On November 9, 2020, Premier Scott Moe appointed Jim as the Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement, Minister Responsible for the Public Service Commission, Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority and Minister Responsible for the Global Transportation Hub. In addition to his current roles, Jim has also served as Minister of Health, Minister of Highways and Infrastructure, Minister of First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs, and Minister of Government Relations.